Vancouver Island Music Awards celebrate 10 years

The 2014 10th Anniversary Vancouver Island Music Awards Gala takes place Saturday, March 22 at St. Andrew’s Presbyterian Church (Douglas & Broughton).

The evening includes performances by 10 of the nominees including Sue Medley and the Black Road Band, Mary Murphy with Will Millar, Sam Weber, Andrea Smith and Dave Cormier.

The gala will be hosted by 15-year-old magician Jason Verners, in addition to other cameo co-hosts.

Guest are asked to bring a can of food or donation for the Mustard Seed Food Bank who will be on site.

Doors open at 6pm and the show begins at 7pm. There will be a concession and merchandise table open before the ceremony and during intermission. This is an all ages event. There will also be door prizes.

Tickets are available at Lyle's Place or by calling 778-350-9725 or email vima@jameskasper.com

2014 nominees include:

Vocal Performance of the Year:

Tom Lang – Giving In a Little
Sue Medley – High Time
Balkan Babes – Oine Doine
Jessica Benini – One Last Time
Sam Weber – Right-Hearted
Brodie Dawson – Words

Youth Song of the Year:
Kaya Martin – Dandelion
Teagan Johnston – Devil’s December
Phoenix Lazare – Run Away
Noble Savage – The Brightest Day
Close the Bombay Doors – Winding Forever

Gospel Song of the Year:
Carla Funk – Let It Shine
Fraser Campbell – Search the Heavens
Koko Relleve – Why We Praise You

Music Video of the Year:
Secondhand Habit – Love Letter
Andrea Smith – Moonlight Shine
Jamie Ruddick – Maude Island
AIVIA – Some Nights

Live Act of the Year:
Brodie Dawson
The Distributors
Sydney Batters

World Music Song of the Year:
Compassion Gorilla – La Polizia
Balkan Babes – Oine Doine
Bowler – Si Me Gustaba Mexico
Mary Murphy – The Road to Lisdoonvarna

Best Production of a Song:
Jack Sigurdson – Found Her Phone Book
[Producer: Zak Cohen, Woodshop Studios (Duncan)]
Tom Lang – Giving in a Little
[Producer: Tom Lang, Carpe Diem Studio (Victoria)]
Sue Medley – High Time
[Producers: John Mang/Sue Medley, MangSong Studio (Comox) / Dove Creek Studios (Courtney BC), Paul Keim, Mix Engineer]
Compassion Gorilla – La Polizia
[Producers: Thomas Martin and Chris Fretwell at DubWorks Studios (San Cristobal de las Casas, Mexico)]
Bowler – Negatism
[Producer: Eric Hogg, Soma Sound (Victoria)]
Dave Cormier – Sarah
[Producer: Zak Cohen, Woodshop Studios (Duncan)]

Roots Song of the Year:
Andrea Smith – Black Moods
Daniel Cook – Comfy Couches
Kerry Jayne – Dreaming
Rose Kirchner – Fireweed
Jonny Miller – Home
The Cumberland Brothers – Johnny
Bruce and Judy Wing – Miss Your Exit
The Twisted Pines – Roll On
Johnny Galactic – San Francisco Babe
Bev Finch – The Garden

Pop/Rock Song of the Year:
Riley Smith – Chicago
Tom Lang – Giving In a Little
Sue Medley – High Time
Mark Crissinger – In Love With a Liar
Joey Clarkson – Johnny the Radio
Andrea Smith – Loosely
Bruce and Judy Wing – Lucky Lucky You
Dave Cormier – Sarah
This Day Burns – Still Bleeding
Kali Moreno – Stranger


We encourage an open exchange of ideas on this story's topic, but we ask you to follow our guidelines for respecting community standards. Personal attacks, inappropriate language, and off-topic comments may be removed, and comment privileges revoked, per our Terms of Use. Please see our FAQ if you have questions or concerns about using Facebook to comment.

You might like ...

Community Events, July 2015

Add an Event

Read the latest eEdition

Browse the print edition page by page, including stories and ads.

Jul 3 edition online now. Browse the archives.