Skip to content

Deadline for city council nominations today

Council hopefuls lineup in Victoria and Esquimalt

As the work day closes today, so too does the 10-day window to file nomination papers for candidacy in the November civic election.

By the News deadline on Wednesday morning, four candiates officially filed in the Victoria race for mayor or council.

Among them, newcomer Sean Murray is the latest to declare.

Other early birds to file include mayor Dean Fortin, and councillors Lynn Hunter and Marianne Alto.

The remaining six city councillors are expected to run for another term.

Also expect filing from prospective mayoral candidate Paul Brown and council candidates Shellie Gudgeon, Saul Andersen, Lisa Helps, Rose Henry, Ben Isitt, John Turner, Aaron Hall, Linda McGrew, and Sukhi Lalli. Steve Filipovic has yet to announce in which race he intends to run.

To view a list on candidates, along with their contact information, visit Follow the link under the heading List of Candidates Filing Nomination Papers.

Meanwhile, seven Esquimalt council candidates have officially hit the election campaign trail.

Four newcomers to council – Dave Hodgins, Bob McKie, Tim Morrison and Josh Steffler – declared their intent in May. David Schinbein and Sandra Dixon have also submitted their nomination papers.

Mayor Barbara Desjardins is seeking her second mayoral term. To date, no one has declared they will run against her.

Coun. Meagan Brame is campaigning to secure her second term, and Coun. Lynda Hundleby has announced she will vie for a fourth council term.

For a list of candidates who have filed their papers, please go to and select your municipality.

Muncipal elections will be held Nov. 19.